Job Interview “Script” for Dummies

Salam.

Since year 2012, I have been attending more than 10 Job Interviews. Roughly during the interviews, the interviewer will be asking me about my self my background my family, my future plans, and my current job and my past work experience (mostly same questions).

Actually they just want to discover about your knowledge, your attitude and your level of confidence. Many interview questions actually are to be expected. I have listed 7 basic questions with the model answers LOL. Study this list and I hope you’ll be ready to answer them with confidence! 

Mai baca.. (Lets read..)

Q1: Tell me about yourself.

What a very simple question! But during the interview this simple question can really make you sweat. Anyway to answer this question you must start with introducing yourself (name, background and other details) then a little bit about your past/current job.

Model answer: My  name is Rashid, I am Sabahan and lived in Selangor. Well, I am currently an Admin Executive at Pertama Kompleks KL, where I am basically managing the day-to-day operations of the office. Before that, I  graduated from UiTM  in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts. 

Q2: Why did you leave (or why are you leaving) your job?

To answer this question, you should never, ever tell them the negative stories about your current or past employers. 

You can use the listed answers as per below:

  1. I reevaluated my career goals and am looking for other employment opportunities.
  2. I am interested in pursuing other possibilities within my chosen career field.
  3. I am currently looking for a position better matched to my skills and long-term career goals.
  4. I am looking for a position within a company where I can contribute and grow.”

Source: http://theinterviewguys.com/10-good-reasons-for-leaving-a-job/

 

Q3: Why should we hire you?

This is a straight forward question and need to be answered carefully. Personally, to answer this question, you have to sell yourself and your skills to the interviewer. Tell them about your strengths. If you can show it, prove it! 

Model answer: I am a team player, I can lead, I can work in a team and I am fast learner. TEETT!! It is not a 100% right.

The right answer supposed to be like this: “I have all of the skills and experience that you’re looking for. I have the one year of experience that you’re looking for, at the same time, I have developed my communication skills from working directly with senior managers, which means I am well prepared to work on high-profile, cross-department projects. I have a reputation for getting things done with high quality work and I almost feel like the job description was written with me in mind.

Q4: What are your salary requirements?

Before coming to the interview session, please make a research on what you should be paid. Ask your friend and you can ask the HR officer first before attending the interview. Ask them the range of payment that they could offer. 

Q5: Where do you see yourself in five years?

If asked this question, just be honest and let them know about your future planning. If you want to get married next week, let them know. If you’re planning to enroll into Master Degree, let them know. But don’t be too specific. 

Model answer: “I am planning to enroll into a Master Degree next year. My goal right now is to find a position at a company where I can grow and take on new challenges over time. Ultimately, I’d like to assume more management responsibilities. But most importantly, I want to work for an organization where I can build a career.” – http://biginterview.com/blog/2013/02/where-do-you-see-yourself-five-years.html

Q6: What do you consider to be your weaknesses?

We all knows. Nobody’s perfect. Tell them and let them know how you’ve taken steps to overcome it.

Model answer: I  am a bit horrible at dealing with the customer/ people. When I started working, I realised that was a big problem. So my ex boss challenged me to improve it by letting me to seat at the Customer Service Desk for the first month and I took the small step of promising myself that I can do it! Then, I joined the Public Speaking Training that held at our company which made a big difference to me. Even now I am still nervous but I will keep on improving my self! 

Q7: Do you have any questions for us?

Hehe. Now is the time for you to dig more about the company. Ask them about their’s favorite part about working there, ask them about the working culture, the team and of course the benefits. Refer here for more info.

For more please read – https://www.themuse.com/advice/how-to-answer-the-31-most-common-interview-questions

Good luck!

WA.

 

One thought on “Job Interview “Script” for Dummies

Leave a Reply

